EmployeeIssues.comU.S. Employee Rights in Plain English
Employment Contracts and AgreementsAgreements
Attorney Referral ServiceAttorney Referral
Employee BenefitsBenefits
Employee Rights BlogBlog
Work Breaks and LeaveBreaks & Leave
Child LaborChild Labor
Independent ContractorContractor
Criminal Record - Job and Employment DecisionsCriminal Record
Work HoursHours
Workplace and Employment RetaliationRetaliation
Workplace Safety and HealthSafety & Health
Employment Termination and DischargeTermination
Labor UnionsUnions
Wages and PayWages & Pay
Workplace IssuesWorkplace
Find a New Job
jobs by Indeed job search
You are Here: Home > Discrimination > Sex Discrimination

Sex Discrimination

Sex Discrimination Definition

Sex discrimination in employment is prejudice against either male or female employees on the basis of gender. Sex discrimination includes sexual harassment and, as defined by the Federal Government (for Federal employment) and several states, also includes prejudice on the basis of sexual preference (sexual orientation), marital status or parental status (e.g., number of children).

Sex Discrimination Laws

Sex discrimination is prohibited in any aspect of employment, including hiring, pay, benefits, promotion and retention, by three Federal discrimination laws.

The "main" sex discrimination law is Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Title VII of the Act makes it illegal for employers to discriminate in any aspect of employment on the basis of gender, as well as on the basis of race, color, religion or national origin.

Title VII also prohibits employers from making employment decisions about employees based on gender stereotypes and assumptions; for example, an employer may not refuse to hire mothers based solely on the assumption that they will all eventually miss work from caring for sick children.

The Equal Pay Act of 1963 and the Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978 are the two other Federal laws that prohibit sex discrimination in employment.

The Equal Pay Act amended the Fair Labor Standards Act to specifically prohibit sex discrimination caused by employers paying unequal wages to men and women, who perform essentially the same jobs.

The Pregnancy Discrimination Act amended Title VII of the Civil Rights Act to specifically prohibit sex discrimination against either parent on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions.

Title VII and the Pregnancy Discrimination Act generally apply to employers with 15 or more employees, including state and local government employers, and to employment agencies, unions and Federal employers. The Equal Pay Act generally applies to all employers and unions.

All of the Federal sex discrimination laws are enforced by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). Sex discrimination laws in states that have them are enforced by state EEOC equivalents. Generally, you are protected from sex discrimination by whichever law at the state or Federal level affords the most protection.

Protections for discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, marital status and parental status are not enforced by the EEOC. Rather they are enforced by other Federal government agencies for Federal employment and by state EEOC equivalents or other state agencies for public- and private-sector employment. See the fact sheet by the EEOC for more information. Consult an attorney for legal advice.

Did you know?On November 10, 2015, President Obama announced that he supports the Equality Act. The Act, currently a bill, would grant sexual-orientation discrimination protections in employment to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) Americans, by amending the Civil Rights Act of 1964. However, Republicans in the current Congress are not likely to pass the bill.

Sex Discrimination Legal Recourse

If you reasonably believe that you've suffered sex discrimination in some aspect of employment, then you or your representative (such as your attorney) may file a sex discrimination charge with the EEOC. If a state sex discrimination law comes into play, then the EEOC will instruct you.

You might also be entitled to file a sex discrimination lawsuit; however, you must first file a discrimination charge with the EEOC, unless you file your lawsuit under the Equal Pay Act.

The Equal Pay Act is the only Federal discrimination law under which an employee may file a lawsuit, without first filing a charge with the EEOC. However, the EEOC advises that filing a charge anyway might be a good idea, just in case another Federal discrimination law applies.

Don't wait too long to file your sex discrimination charge or lawsuit, as a statue of limitations applies. If you need help, consult an attorney. An attorney will help you to file your charge or lawsuit in a legally-compelling way and will also help you to collect necessary evidence. Attorneys often take sex discrimination cases on contingency.

Your employer may not retaliate against you in any way for filing a sex discrimination charge or lawsuit, or for participating in related proceedings. Your employer is also prohibited from retaliating against witnesses who testify on your behalf, such as coworkers.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now
Subscribe to Employee Rights Blog RSS FeedSubscribe
Custom Search
Search Tips
Ask an Employment Lawyer Online Now
Land a Job
jobs by Indeed
Do not reproduce content from this or any page. Plagiarism will be detected by Copyscape. See copyright notice below.
Consult a Lawyer for Legal Advice
Copyright Notice