The state minimum wage rate increased on the effective date of January 1, 2009 in each of the states listed below, to the hourly amount indicated.
Update: See Minimum Wage 2012.
Arizona – $7.25
Colorado – $7.28
Connecticut – $8.00
Florida – $7.21
Missouri – $7.05
Montana – $6.90
New Mexico – $7.50
Ohio – $7.30
Oregon – $8.40
Vermont – $8.06
Washington – $8.55
According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the state minimum wage rate in each of the states listed below will increase to $7.25 per hour, effective 7/24/2009.
In some cases, the rate will increase because the states have planned to match the scheduled federal minimum wage increase to $7.25 per hour, also effective 7/24/2009. In other cases, the rate will automatically increase because the states have simply adopted the federal rate or because the state rate will be lower than the increased federal rate. The federal rate rules when the state rate is lower.
Note: In December 2008, the New Jersey Minimum Wage Advisory Commission recommended that the state raise its minimum wage rate to $8.50 per hour in 2009 and also establish an automatic annual raise in subsequent years. At this point it’s only a suggestion for state lawmakers to consider; meanwhile, the information above applies.
The state minimum wage rate is also set to increase in each of the following states, to the hourly amount and on the effective date indicated.
Illinois – $8.00 on 7/01/2009
Kentucky – $7.25 on 7/01/2009
Maine – $7.50 on 10/01/2009
About the Minimum Wage
The minimum wage is the least dollar amount per hour that employers must pay to eligible employees as mandated by state or federal law, or in some cases (such as San Francisco), municipal law. Eligible employees are covered by whichever law—municipal, state or federal—is the most generous.
In the few states that don’t have their own minimum wage laws, eligible employees are covered by the Federal minimum wage law, entitled the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
For more information about the minimum wage in your work state, including eligibility requirements and applicable laws, browse the Web site of the state labor department. (Look for “minimum wage” or “wage and hour” topics or FAQs.) Consult a lawyer for legal advice regarding the federal or state minimum wage.