The thirteen states listed below will increase the hourly minimum wage to the dollar amounts shown, on the effective date of January 1, 2014.
- Arizona $7.90
- Colorado $8.00
- Connecticut $8.70
- Florida $7.93
- Missouri $7.50
- Montana $7.90
- New Jersey $8.25
- New York $8.00
- Ohio $7.95
- Oregon $9.10
- Rhode Island $8.00
- Vermont $8.73
- Washington $9.32
A fourteenth state, California, will raise its hourly minimum wage to $9.00, effective on July 1, 2014.
Update: After President Obama’s proposal to raise the federal minimum wage to $10.10 an hour stalled in Congress, the states listed below raised their rates for 2015 to the amounts shown.
- Connecticut $10.10
- Delaware $8.25
- Maryland $10.10
- Minnesota $9.25
- West Virginia $8.75
The four cities and the county listed below will increase the hourly minimum wage to the dollar amounts shown, also on the effective date of January 1, 2014.
- Albuquerque, NM $8.60
- Bernalillo County, NM $8.50
- San Francisco, CA $10.74
- San Jose, CA $10.15
- SeaTac, WA $15.00
Update: Seattle, WA has approved a minimum wage of $15 per hour, to become effective in installments by 2017 for some eligible employees and by 2121 for all. The first installment is to become effective on April 1, 2015. It will raise the minimum wage to $10 per hour for some and to $11 per hour for others.
Washington will have the highest state hourly rate in 2014. (It was the first state to exceed $9.00, which it did in 2012 by setting its rate at $9.04.) The SeaTac minimum wage was a measure passed by voters and will be the highest municipal hourly rate in 2014; however, it’s only for airport-related hospitality and transportation workers and currently undergoing a challenge in court.
Update: According to the Washington Post, the King County Superior Court ruled that the SeaTac minimum wage measure applies only to the 1,600 people who work at hotels and car services outside the airport. That decision omits 4,700 workers who work inside the airport. Technically, the airport is a separate jurisdiction belonging to the Port of Seattle. Subsequently, it is not subject to voters’ desires. Proponents of the $15 minimum wage plan to appeal the court’s decision.
The hourly rates above are for the “standard” minimum wage. Under federal minimum wage law, states may allow employers to pay lower than the standard hourly rate based on certain factors such as tips, commissions and the age of minors. The lower rate is sometimes referred to as the subminimum wage and its governing rules vary by state.
Several states have minimum wage rates that are the same as the current federal rate of $7.25. Fewer states have rates that are higher than the current federal rate and even fewer have rates that are lower. Five states, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee, don’t have a state minimum wage.
More about the Minimum Wage
In the few states that have hourly rates lower than the federal rate, employers must pay at least the federal minimum wage to non-exempt employees. States set rates that are lower than the federal rate, presumably so that employees who are not eligible for the federal rate receive at least a modest fixed amount in hourly wages.
In the five states that don’t have a minimum wage, employers must pay at least the federal rate to non-exempt employees. The federal minimum wage always rules in states that have a lower or no minimum wage.
To research the minimum wage in your work state, such as to look up the current rate, eligibility requirements, applicable laws or how to file a wage complaint, browse the Web site of the relevant state labor department. Look for minimum wage, wage and hour or similar topics.
Consult an attorney for legal advice about the minimum wage.